Work Injuries Caused By Operating Machinery
Machinery accidents can happen suddenly in the workplace in South Florida, and they can be especially devastating. When a machinery accident does occur on the job, it is critical to know about the steps you will need to take in order to seek workers’ compensation coverage. Our experienced Pompano Beach workers’ compensation lawyers can tell you more about the process, and we are here to help you with your case. In the meantime, it is also important to learn more about machine safety and how these types of workplace accidents can happen.
Learning more About Machine Safety
What do you need to know about machine accidents and machine safety? The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) explains that “machines can help improve production efficiency in the workplace,” yet “their moving parts, sharp edges, and hot surfaces can also cause serious workplace injuries such as crushed fingers or hands, amputations, burns, or blindness.” The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) underscores that “safeguards are essential for protecting workers from these preventable injuries,” and “any machine part, function, or process that may cause injury must be safeguarded.”
What types of industries typically require workers to use heavy machines? OSHA cites the following:
- Food preparation;
- Carpentry and woodworking;
- Maritime work; and
Other types of industries also require workers to use heavy machinery for a wide variety of job tasks.
What You Should Do After a Machinery Accident in Florida
Florida law has specific requirements for workers’ compensation eligibility, including reporting requirements and medical provider requirements. First, it is essential to report the injury to your employer as soon as possible. At a maximum, you must report the injury to your employer within 30 days from the date of the machine accident. Given that machine accidents are often very serious, you might not immediately think to report the injury when you are trying to seek emergency medical care. You have 30 days from the date you suffered the injury to make the report.
In addition to making a report to your employer, you will also need to seek medical care from an already approved provider. Your employer can give you more information about approved providers. Again, given that machine-related workplace accidents are often debilitating and life-threatening, it is critical to know that your initial emergency visit does not need to be with an approved provider. Rather, you can seek emergency treatment from any provider.
Contact a Pompano Beach Workers’ Compensation Lawyer
Many different kinds of jobs require workers to operate heavy machinery and to use electric-powered machines on the job. Heavy machines can be extremely dangerous, and it is important to know what to do if you get hurt. If you have any questions about seeking compensation for a work injury caused by a machine or that you suffered while operating machinery, you should get in touch with one of the experienced Pompano Beach workers’ compensation lawyers at the Law Offices of David M. Benenfeld, P.A. for assistance. Machinery accidents at work can be life-altering, and it is important to have help seeking the compensation you need and deserve.