Steps You Will Need To Take To Receive Workers’ Compensation Benefits
Were you recently injured while you were working, or was a loved one seriously injured on the job? While it can be difficult to focus on the legal requirements of Florida workers’ compensation law when you are struggling with physical pain and the emotional devastation of being unable to work, it is critical to know about the steps to take in order to be eligible for compensation. The Florida workers’ compensation system pays for medical care related to your injury, wage replacement benefits up to 66 and 2/3 percent of your regular wages prior to your injury, and in some cases, permanent disability pay. Yet in order to receive these critical forms of compensation, you will need to take certain steps in your workers’ compensation case. A West Palm Beach workers’ compensation lawyer at our firm can discuss these steps with you in more detail, but in the meantime consider the following information.
First, Gather Evidence at the Site of the Injury to Support Your Case
As a first step, it is important to gather evidence, if you are able to do so, at the location of the injury to support your case. You should take photographs and/or videos with your phone, and you should also identify any co-workers or other parties who may have witnessed the accident. It is also important to write down your immediate recollections of the accident and the circumstances surrounding your injury.
Second, See a Doctor for Emergency Treatment or an Approved Provider for Care
Next, you will need to see a doctor. If your injury requires emergency treatment, you should see the nearest provider you can to get immediate care. There are no restrictions for initial, emergency treatment. For subsequent treatment, you will need to see an approved health care provider.
Third, Be Sure to Report the Injury to Your Employer Before 30 Days Have Passed
Third, it is critical to report your injury to your employer as soon as you can, and within 30 days from the date that you got hurt. This timeline is strict, so do not delay. If 30 days have already passed in your case, you should talk with a lawyer about whether you might fall into one of the exceptions so that you can still be eligible for workers’ compensation benefits.
Contact a West Palm Beach Workers’ Compensation Attorney Today
The workers’ compensation process in Florida can be complicated, and it can be difficult to know precisely what steps you need to take in order to be eligible for financial compensation. The best way to ensure that you have taken all required steps in the workers’ compensation claims process in Florida is to get in touch with a lawyer who can assist you. One of the experienced West Palm Beach workers’ compensation attorneys at the Law Offices of David M. Benenfeld, P.A. can evaluate your case for you today and can provide you with additional information about your claim. Even if you have already sought benefits but have been denied, we can help you to appeal a denial of benefits and will do everything we can to help you obtain the compensation you need and deserve following a workplace injury.