New Florida Seat Belt Law Begins Tuesday, June 30 | Florida & Metro Ft. Lauderdale Car Accident Attorney
Tomorrow (Tuesday, June 30) marks the beginning of the new Florida seat belt law and, according to the News Jacksonville website, failing to wear a seat belt can cost offenders around $100, even if they are not pulled over for any other reason. The new “click it or ticket” law means that officers will be able to stop people in their vehicles if they are not buckled up, with that being the only reason for the stop. Under the old law, drivers had to be pulled over for another violation before officers could cite them for not wearing a seat belt. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, the new Florida primary seat belt law will prevent an estimated 1,700 injuries and 140 deaths from serious automobile accidents, as well as save an estimated $408 million in costs related to the accidents. Statistics from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles for the year 2007 in Florida reveal just how necessary the new law is: 61% of fatal crash victims were not wearing seat belts in their car accidents.
If you have questions regarding the new Florida seat belt law or any questions for an experienced and compassionate car accident attorney, feel free to call David Benenfeld at Injury Law Service. He has been representing injured victims of car accidents for over a decade, and he will be glad to answer your most important questions for free regarding your unique situation.