What Are The Legal Consequences Of Getting A DUI In The State Of Florida?
Floridians would be better off to think before they drink. That’s because within the state of Florida, a DUI stays on your record for 75 years. That’s the court’s way of sending a message that if you drink and drive, you will be remembered for that for the rest of your life. Read below to learn what a DUI conviction means to you.
1st DUI Conviction
- $250-1,000, depending on BAC and if driving with a minor
- Mandatory 50 community service hours
- One year driving probation
- 8 hour-9 month jail time, depending on BAC
- Minimum 2 year jail time for DUI that killed someone
- 10 day vehicle impoundment
- 6 month minimum driver license revocation
2nd DUI Conviction
- $50-2,000, depending on BAC and if driving with a minor
- 9-12 month jail time
- 30 day vehicle impoundment
- 5 year minimum driver license revocation
If the driver caught with a DUI causes a fatal Florida motorcycle accident and kills someone, the penalties are far harsher. This is considered a second-degree felony, called DUI Manslaughter when driving with alcohol or another drug in your system. In Florida, these individuals face jail time up to 15 years and a $10,000 fine. Be for warned, DUI drivers who flee the scene may face up to 30 years of jail time.
If you or your loved one were injured by a driver who was influenced by alcohol or drugs, contact the Law Offices of David Benenfeld. We offer a free consultation to discuss your case.