New Texting Law To Hopefully Lower Broward County Car Crashes
Every day around this nation people are texting and driving, never considering that their negligent actions could cause injuries to others sharing the road with them. For this reason, many states have adopted texting bans. And the state of Florida has finally followed suit. After years of texting bills being rejected in the Senate, Florida finally passed a texting ban—a bill that has been long overdue.
Because many in the House and Senate couldn’t agree on a texting bill, Florida became one of the last states in the nation to adopt a texting ban. In effect since October 1, 2013, the new texting ban isn’t as strict as similar laws in other states. For example, the fee is only $30 for the first offense, but in some other states the fee is closer to $600 or more. Additionally, drivers cannot be pulled over by police solely for a texting offense.
Will the New Texting Ban Reduce Florida Auto Accidents?
Because the texting law is not a primary offense and because the fees are not very steep if a driver is cited for breaking the law, many are concerned that drivers will continue to text and drive. However, with enough attention that has been placed on the dangers of texting and driving in Florida, others are hoping that drivers will stop texting at the wheel in order to reduce car accidents in Broward County and throughout Florida.
With the implementation of this new law, people now know that it is against the law to participate in texting while driving. Hopefully this new knowledge will have an impact on drivers to help minimize the amount of South Florida car crashes.
If you were injured as a result of a driver who was distracted, there is a good chance that he or she was texting. For help making a financial recovery for your injuries and damages, contact the Law Office of David Benenfeld for a FREE consultation to discuss your case with a knowledgeable accident attorney in Broward County. Call: 954-807-1334.