Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
Law Offices of David M. Benenfeld P.A. Motto
  • Complimentary Consultations Available
  • ~
  • Hablamos Español

Do I Need To Report My Workplace Accident?


If you were recently injured at work, you might have gone immediately to an emergency department to seek treatment or made an appointment with your health care provider in order to seek treatment. Depending upon the severity of the injury and the accident that caused it, you might not have had the time to report the incident to your employer or to a supervisor at your workplace. You might be wondering now if you made a mistake in failing to report the accident, and whether you are required to report the accident at all. Our South Florida workers’ compensation lawyers can help you to understand work injury reporting requirements and what you need to do in order to seek financial compensation for your injuries.

You Must Report the Accident But a Slight Delay May Be Acceptable 

You should not worry if you were injured recently and did not immediately report the accident to your employer or to a supervisor. As the Florida Division of Workers’ Compensation explains, you should ideally report the accident and your injury to your employer as soon as possible after any work-related accident, but Florida law requires you to report within 30 days from the date of the accident. As such, if you were injured on the job within the last month and have not yet reported the accident and injury to your boss, you can still do so within the time window under Florida law without any problems.

What should you do if you have missed the reporting deadline?

When You Have Missed the 30-Day Reporting Deadline 

If there is a chance you have not missed the reporting deadline required under Florida law, you should still report the injury to your employer as soon as possible. If you are certain that you have missed the reporting deadline, you should speak with a Sunrise workers’ compensation attorney as soon as possible. In some cases, you may still be eligible for compensation through the workers’ compensation system even if you did not report the injury within 30 days from the date of the accident.

Your lawyer can discuss reasons that you may be able to give to explain missing the deadline and to remain eligible for workers’ compensation benefits. In some situations, if your employer knew or should have known about the accident and your injuries, you may still be eligible for workers’ compensation. Or, for instance, if your injuries were so serious that you were unable to report the injury within 30 days, you could still be eligible for compensation.

Contact Our Sunrise Workers’ Compensation Attorneys Today 

If you were injured on the job, it is critical to report the work-related accident to your employer as soon as possible and within 30 days from the date of the injury at the very latest. Yet if you missed the deadline, you could fall into an exception and may still be eligible to seek workers’ compensation benefits. A workers’ compensation lawyer in Sunrise at our firm can evaluate your case and help you to determine your eligibility for compensation. Contact the Law Offices of David M. Benenfeld, P.A. for more information.


Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

To Receive Immediate Assistance

By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation