Checklist: Can I File A Workers’ Compensation Claim?
After you get hurt on the job in West Palm Beach or elsewhere in South Florida, it is critical to have a clear understanding of all of the steps you will need to take in order to be eligible for workers’ compensation coverage in Florida. If you have already been injured and have taken some steps toward seeking compensation, you should not have concerns if you still have questions. One of our experienced West Palm Beach workers’ compensation attorneys can assist you with your case. In the meantime, the following is a checklist for you to keep in mind as you are preparing to seek workers’ compensation coverage in South Florida. The checklist is based on requirements set forth under the Florida Statutes and the Florida workers’ compensation system.
Steps for an Injured Employee in Florida Immediately After the Workplace Accident
The following is an important part of any workers’ compensation checklist for employees who have been hurt on the job. This part of the checklist includes steps that an employee should take immediately after the workplace accident:
- Inform your employer immediately (or as soon as possible) about your workplace injury, and make certain that you have informed your employer within 30 days from the date of your accident as required by Florida workers’ compensation law;
- Document the scene of the accident by taking photographs and/or video, and identifying any potential witnesses to the accident; and
- Seek medical attention as soon as possible, seeing any provider in the event of an emergency or an approved provider if you do not require immediate emergency care.
Days and Weeks Following the Workplace Accident
In the days and weeks after the workplace accident, make sure to consider the following steps:
- Ensure that you have reported the injury to your employer, noting the 30-day reporting requirement under Florida law;
- Continue to receive medical treatment from an approved health care provider, and keep receipts for any out-of-pocket expenses that you may incur related to your medical care;
- Obtain medical records and any accident report(s), including any emergency medical records related to your first hospital visit after the accident;
- Keep any correspondence you receive from your employer or the insurance company concerning your workers’ compensation coverage; and
- Get in touch with a workers’ compensation lawyer who can help to ensure that you have taken all necessary steps and can help you to obtain the workers’ compensation benefits you need.
Even if a number of weeks have passed since your workplace accident, it is not too late to seek advice from a workers’ compensation attorney. You may still be able to obtain medical coverage, payments for lost wages, and other possible compensation.
Contact a West Palm Beach Workers’ Compensation Attorney
Do you have any questions or concerns about seeking workers’ compensation benefits in South Florida? Whether you feel sure that you are eligible for benefits or you have questions about eligibility, our firm is here to help you seek the compensation you need. You should get in touch with one of the experienced West Palm Beach workers’ compensation lawyers at the Law Offices of David M. Benenfeld, P.A. as soon as possible to discuss your case and your options.